The beer awards season is set to get into full swing with entries for the Royal Adelaide Beer Awards for 2013 now open.

Only reintroduced to the show stable in 2011, the Awards not only give small brewers a chance to pit themselves against their larger competitors, but they also recognise the importance of the growing small beer industry in Australia.

With last year’s second outing of the awards attracting 90 entries from around the country, Chief Judge Simon Fahey, Coopers (SA), says that there is plenty of room to grow.

“Wed love to push this over the 100 mark in 2013 and call on all Australian breweries – large and small – to get their entries in by June 14,” he says. “Trophies and medals are awarded for the best Reduced Alcohol, Lager, Ale, Wheat, Porter, Stout and Hybrid beers, and Champion Trophies are awarded to the best small brewery, large brewery, South Australian exhibit and overall exhibit – won last year by the McLaren Vale-based Goodieson Brewery.”

The Awards also feature the unique idea of a Celebrity Choice Award. Last year’s panel was made up of all female judges and was taken out by Nail Brewing (WA) with their Clout Stout.

This year’s regular judging panel has been joined by two eminently qualified interstate judges: Brendan Varis of Feral (WA) and Neal Cameron of the Australian Brewery (NSW). Interestingly the 14-member panel is also inclusive of more women than last year.

Varis has judged the Australian International Beer Awards, Sydney Royal Beer Show, Singapore Beer Awards and World Beer Cup. While Cameron has judged at the Australian International Beer Awards since 2009 and Sydney Beer Show since 2011.

Entries for the Royal Adelaide Beer Awards close on Friday, 14 June, with judging taking place from 22 to 24 July.

The awards will be presented at the Highway Hotel, Anzac Highway, on Friday, July 26.

For information on categories, entry requirements and the delivery of exhibits visit the Schedules page on

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *