Entries are now open for the 2019 Australian International Beer Awards (AIBA). 

Entries, which opened on Tuesday 5 February, will close on Friday 22 March, with judging taking place from 8-10 May. The Awards Presentation will be held on Thursday 16 May.

Due to an increase in entries, the 2019 AIBA will see the introduction of two new trophies – Best Fruit Beer and Best Wood or Barrel-Aged Beer. Previously, Gold Medal winning Fruit Beer and Wood- And Barrel-Aged Beer entries would compete with entries from the Herb & Spice, Honey, Smoke, Chocolate & Gluten Free Beer classes for the Best Specialty Beer Trophy.

The two trophies and their classes are:


19A American-Style Fruit Beer
19B Fruit Wheat Beer
19C Belgian-Style Fruit Beer


20A Wood and Barrel-Aged Pale to Amber Beer
20B Wood and Barrel-Aged Dark Beer
20C Wood and Barrel-Aged Strong Beer
20D Wood and Barrel-Aged Sour Beer

The Champion Trophies on offer include Champion Australian Beer, Champion International Beer, Champion Small, Medium and Large Australian Breweries, Champion Small, Medium and Large International Breweries, Australian Gypsy Brewer Award and the Gary Sheppard Award for Best new Exhibitor.

In addition, there are plenty of major trophies on offer:

Best Australian Style Lager
Best Amber/Dark Lager
Best European Style Lager
Best International Lager
Best Pilsner
Best Australian Style Pale Ale
Best New World Pale Ale
Best International Style Pale Ale
Best British Style Ale
Best Porter Best European Style Ale
Best Stout
Best IPA
Best Reduced/Low Alcohol Beer
Best Amber/Dark Ale
Best Wheat Beer Best Belgian/French Style Ale:
Best Specialty Beer
Consistency of Excellence
Best Scotch Ale/Barley Wine
Best Design
Best Design
Best Media

“The AIBA inspire and celebrate excellence in brewing and are open to breweries around the globe of all sizes, from boutique small volume to large-scale commercial production, attracting over 2,100 entries from 359 breweries in 36 countries,” a spokesperson for the AIBA announced.

Around 80 local and international beer experts will be chosen as judges and split into panels of no less than four judges to assess different types of beer. Beers are awarded a score out of 20 against specific criteria including appearance, aroma, flavour and body, technical quality and style.

Any beer can win a gold, silver or bronze medal based on its score. Any beer that scores 17 points or higher will be awarded a gold, 15.5-16.9 points is a silver and 14 – 15.4 is a bronze. To determine trophy winners, all the highest-scoring gold medal winners in the category are then tastes against each other one more time so the judging panel can determine which is considered best.

The enter the AIBA, click here.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *